Posted by: kirsten2011 | January 25, 2010

Hortulus Ogród

At the start of this winter season my host sister and grandparents took me to an incredible place outside the city limits of my town of Koszalin known as Hortulus Ogród. This place is an immense garden that’s tucked away from the world.  You have to drive about 45 minutes out of the city passing many barren crop fields till you get to a dirt road marked with a small sign pointing to the garden.

As they mention in their website, Hortulus Ogród was founded in 1992 and is known as one of the largest gardening centers in Poland.   About 85% of 1,800 varieties of plants are grown in the nursery.  Each season plants are rearranged and replaced due to precipitation levels and temperature change.  When we went, they were planting those that better handle the winter climates, so I saw mostly evergreen trees and bushes.  The sun was out on the day we visited, which allowed me to take my time and enjoy the beauty.

Within this garden there was a lake that produced a river that ran through the gardens.  Crossing it were several charming bridges of all shapes and sizes.

Throughout this gigantic maze of a garden were many statues and artwork pieces.  They ranged from large Greek statues or small metal ones that blend well with the surrounding plants and displays.

There was a large red gazebo strategically placed alongside the river.  A Stone bridge was not too far from it.  This was one of my favorite places to view the gardens sloping down the hill.

A huge maze with many bushes lured you into its twists and curves.

I posted many photos of this garden on my blog site, so please check them out online.  I will return in the spring with my camera to capture all the beautiful flower blooms.

Hortulus Ogród Photo Album


Leave a comment

Categories