Posted by: kirsten2011 | January 2, 2010

Christmas in Poland

My Christmas in Poland has given me many unique experiences that I want to share. Some, I experienced through my host family and others I have either heard or read about. I purchased a book called Christmas in Poland by World Book Inc. which has helped me to describe some of my experiences. I will donate it to my local library upon my return.

It is historically a very Holy holiday with many religious ceremonies. The family decorates and prepares meals and desserts together. School lets out a day before Christmas Eve for kids to help their parents prepare for Wigilia (Christmas Eve). There is a traditional spice cake known as piernik, which is basically a gingerbread roll, made in advance before Wigilia.

Years ago, hand decorated mobiles were hung from the ceilings instead of Christmas trees. Trees are a newer tradition in Poland. I have seen many decorations in out of town markets where you could purchase tinsel, lights, candles and egg ornaments. A Nativity Scene called a szopka is placed under the tree. Szopkas were brought to Poland from Italy in 1223. Some are huge and elaborate tins with colorful foils others are made of wood and clay. Szopkas hold people from the Bible or other historical figures.

Christmas is full of wonderful traditions and ceremonies. Wigilia is an English word for vigil or the eve to a feast. All cleaning and cooking has to be done before Christmas Eve. During Wigilia some people even fast until the evening meals and most do not eat meat. Some visit family graves much like my article I wrote about the celebration of All Saints day on November 1. My family visited the cemetery to clean and decorate a family member’s grave for the holidays.

An extra place setting at the table can be set for a passed loved one or an unexpected guest. Some families put a bit of hay under the table cloth since there was hay in Jesus manger. Before dinner the Host or Christ wafer is broken and shared. It symbolizes peace and harmony throughout the next year. Each family member receives a postcard sized wafer. They go up to each other and wish them a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year as they take a piece of each other’s wafer.

Usually 12 traditional Polish food dishes are served that night. Fortunately for me, my family miscounted and made 15! Barszcz (a beet soup) or zupa grzybowa (a mushroom soup) is served first. I had the chance to try both. The beet soup was served in a drinking mug and the mushroom was served in a bowl. Fish was made in a number of ways. Our family used karp (carp), pstrąg (trout) and śledź (herring). In one dish the carp was fried and the other the carp was cooked then placed in a salty gelatin. Trout was also made into a gelatin as well. A dish containing herring was served raw and soaked in oil and onion. Śledź pod pierzyną, is a traditional dish that is made by stacking layers of raw salted herring, carrots, potatoes, boiled eggs, pickles, yogurt and mayonnaise. Other dishes we prepared for Wigilia were four types of pierogies (potato, cottage cheese & potato, mushroom, and mushroom with cabbage.) Cabbage with peas, gołąbki (buckwheat with mushrooms wrapped in cabbage), fried mushrooms,  and cooked trout covered in carrots. Desserts are small cakes, poppy seed rolls, cheese, fruits and kutia (poppy seeds with noodles). It is thought to be bad luck not to try a little of each dish, so, I did. I really enjoyed all but two of the dishes. My parents might be surprised because I was quite a picky eater before I came to Poland, but I have enjoyed trying new foods.

In some homes before dinner it is traditional for the oldest member of the family to read the nativity story. Santa Clause usually arrives sometime before midnight on Christmas Eve to leave presents for everyone unlike Christmas morning in the United States. In the States Santa comes only when your in bed asleep the night before Christmas. Here he only comes whenever the children aren’t in the same room as the Christmas tree.

Christmas Eve Mass known as “pasterka” is held at midnight. Families also attend a Mass on Christmas Day as well. Christmas Day is spent with family and for the main meal you can eat meat. The Christmas season in some rural areas is celebrated through January 6th. On January 6 during the feast of The Three Kings people write in chalk KMB on their front door frames. The letters stand for the initials of the three kings. A cross is drawn between each letter and 2009 is written to the left of the letters and 2010 to the right. My Grandmother in Alabama still does this.

Click the link below for more Christmas photos.
Christmas in Poland

Please look on my blog site for blogs and beautiful photos I have taken during my time here in Poland.

Happy New Year! Szczęśliwego Nowego Roku!


Leave a comment

Categories